Book 5: The Stone Diaries

(null)The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields
Book: 5/52
Completed: September 12, 2015
Purchased: Goodwill

After my last 4 books, it was refreshing to read a book where women actually exist as fully formed beings. As I mentioned in previous reviews, this isn’t something that I’ve ever been conscious of but is becoming increasingly difficult for me to ignore, especially from male authors who are otherwise richly insightful in their narrative.

The Stone Diaries follows the protagonist, Daisy, through her full life. The reader is privy to significantly more insight than Daisy herself by allowing us into the minds of those closest to her at pivotal moments such as her birth and childhood, 3/4 life crisis, and death.

I loved this book as soon as I closed it, probably more than I enjoyed it while I was actually reading it. It had moments that inspired deep reflection, but at times the story itself dragged. However, upon finishing it it was immediately apparent that the novel was a fully formed entity, much like a full life, that demands to be admired holistically. It stands on its own as a beautiful piece that deserves your read. Clearly I’m not alone in this opinion, as The Stone Diaries was the recipient of the 1995 Pulitzer Prize, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was a New York Times Bestseller. So read it.

Would I read more by this author?: Certainly! She is eloquent and clearly demonstrates an ability to write an array of characters so I don’t expect her future books would feel like a reinvention of this one.

Rating: 9/10

Avalon

Leave a Reply

