Book 12: Smoke and Mirrors

Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman
Book: 12/52
Completed: November 2, 2015
Purchased: Borrowed from Francis

This might be my favorite short story collection that I’ve read. The collection includes poetry, sci-fi, horror, and degrees of fantastical encroachment upon reality. I loved thumbing through the intro and pairing up the stories with the backgrounds that Gaiman provides for each. It really went through the writing process and felt personal to Neil Gaiman.

Most significantly, this book put me in the mindset to start writing my own fiction again. Reading about the author as a character provided a tremendous amount of creative inspiration for me.

As I complete this review, it’s been nearly 2 months since I read the collection. As such, it’s hard for me to recall why my favorite stories were the most impactful. Make sure not to miss The Wedding Present, which is nested within the introduction. Also of note is The Goldfish Pool and Mouse.

Would I read more by this author?: Such an enthusiastic yes.
Rating: 9/10

Avalon

Leave a comment